A different kind of Valentine’s Day

western red cedar4I’ve loved this tree since I was little. It was already huge and old back then.

But this is not just any tree. This is a western red cedar, probably the most magnificent tree you can find in the Pena park. Sometimes I feel like going back to this park just because of this tree – I’ll admit I’m a  tree hugger!

western red cedar2

When king consort Ferdinand II planned the park he wanted to create a mix between the kind of forests of his native Germany and botanical species from other parts of the world – which is why the Pena park has western red cedars, sequoias and camelias, among other species.

Today,  when half the world is celebrating Valentine’s day, I wanted to bring your attention to a kind of love that is often forgotten: the love of Nature and the planet. Enjoy the day!

western red cedar3

Does anybody elese see a face in the tree?

Categories: Nature, Places | Tags: , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “A different kind of Valentine’s Day

  1. I haven’t celebrated Valentine’s Day in 42 years – this is the perfect one for me!!

  2. albanlusitanae

    yeah I DO see a grinning face… many trees in that park have them… another reason to visit over and over again…

  3. This tree appears to be reaching out for a hug. 🙂

  4. I want to snuggle up in the tree, so inviting!

  5. Pingback: Once in a lifetime | Beyond Lisbon

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

