Highlands – Portuguese style

castrolaboreiro2

Sometimes travel doesn’t have much to do with monuments or with a huge checklist of things you have to do in order to “have fun”.

Sometimes travel is just about soaking up the energies from the place you’re visiting and about collecting memories. Personally, I like to daydream a little.

castrolaboreiro1

When in Castro Laboreiro (which I mentioned before) I couldn’t helpt but get a “Lord of the Rings” kind of feeling. I was sure that at any minute I would see a legion of soldiers (or orcs!) coming from around the mountain.

castrolaboreiro4

Then I remembered my favourite part from the Latin classes I took in college. Despite being fairly technologically advanced Romans were superstitious and, might I add, a little too full of themselves.

Apparently, it took them a long time to enter the area we now call Serra da Estrela because, among other things, they must have thought it was a good idea to bring horses to a mountainous area! Oh, and Viriato played an important role, of course.

castrolaboreiro5

Standing there, with the wind rushing past my face in the grey and cold weather, I wondered if the north of what we today call Portugal had other characters, similar to Viriato. Even if it never did I can only imagine that living here, especially centuries ago without the comfort we now have, made everyone a hero in their own way.

Do you daydream when you travel? 😉

The website: http://www.beyondlisbon.pt/

You can follow me on: Facebook – Pinterest – TripAdvisor – Instagram – Youtube

Categories: Activities, Nature, Places | Tags: , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Highlands – Portuguese style

  1. Beautiful landscape…not an area we had time to visit during our stay in Portugal in 2010 but certainly an area I would like to visit. (Suzanne)

  2. very nice work, bravo!
    best regards: bulb

  3. What a magical landscape!

  4. What does an estrela have to do with Serra da Estrela?

  5. “Estrela” means star, so “Serra da Estrela” means “Star Mountain”. It has to do with a legend. You might want to read this post: https://beyondlisbon.wordpress.com/2013/05/21/from-folklore-legend-to-science-fact/ 🙂

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

